Synchronizing lights, another method

I dont know if anyone has used the method that I use to synchronize lights, but it takes a little longer but you get a perfectly synched show in the end. I use an sound editor, cool edit pro, to place points in my song where i want lights to change, turn on or off, then i take that list of cues and transfer them over to the animation director software, thus creating all the columns that i need for the song. If i need more i will just add them manually and set the start time of the column.I have been working with Jeff Lacey on a show nowfor 2 yearsin Charlotte, NC and currently we are using 96 channels with animated lighting hardware. Im not a big fan their software but it works, it just takes forever. This year, one of the songswe programmed was a Disney selection from EPCOT's Illuminations show. Reflections of Earth is the name of the song and the video can be seen here. Scroll down the page and its under JEFF L's DISPLAY. Please enjoy the file!

-Nate Mitchell

• Replies 67
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

It took me about a week spending a few hours a day to program that show. Thanks for the wonderful comments. Jeff wants to start a larger show in the next year or so, so that more people will be able to attend. I started an outdoor haunted attraction 7 years ago and want to get into other seasonal events. Its really awesome doing this kind of stuff for people. have a good one!

For people who can't afford Adobe Audition (the new name for Cool Edit Pro after they got bought by Adobe) there is a free alternative called Audacity. I'm not sure how you could transfer data from the track to another program - but it also visually displays the wave form allowing you to pick up on beats and other points in the music on time.

Here's the website you can get Audacity from:

http://audacity.sourceforge.net/

Oh - I forgot to mention it is FREE!!! (not even shareware - but really free)

Ed Meyer

Emmetsburg, IA