Looking for info to support use of GFIs

According to the CPSC, GFCIs could prevent 2/3'rds of the 300 electrocution deaths that occur every year. 67%... 200 people a year..... It also goes on to say that they would prevent 'thousands of burn and shock injuries'.

The document was created after 1990, when GFCIs were first required to be installed on branch circuits that service crawl spaces and unfinished basements. Outdoor GFCIs were required in 73, bathrooms in 75, garages in 78 and kitchens in 87. That would mean electrocution deaths were actually higher before those standards.

It's interesting to note that the first place GFCIs were required were for OUTDOOR outlets. The same ones that some people around here REMOVE.

http://www.cpsc.gov/CPSCPUB/PUBS/99.html

Edited by oldcqr
(I hate it when I use ' when I shouldn't!)
  • 10 months later...

I'm new to Planet Christmas, so excuse this question. I'm sure it's been addresed many times.

I understand the importance of GFIs, but whenever it rains ( even a light mist) or there is wet snow, the GFI cuts our lights. We have over 20,000 mini lights, I have all the connections raised off the ground and wrapped with electrical tape.

What else can I do to keep the GFIs from triggering?:(

I started using the tape after the first year because the GFIs kept triggering. So the problem was there even without the tape.

I'm thinking of switching to a portable generator like the Honda 6500...no GFIs!

What makes you think that the power comming out of the generator is any safer than the power coming from your house?

I've been waiting for the first 'I aint using GFCI' post. You win!

-->Some people still don't get it

...no GFIs!

Them's fighten words around here.

The information in this thread was specifically intended to point out the importance of GFCIs. They save lives, period.

Edit:

I see you're new to PlanetChristmas. That must be why Mike took it easy on you ;)

Edited by rwertz