End of season exhaustion has set in...

I'm almost to the point of "Stick a fork in me... I'm done..." (almost) ;)

Of all the advice I have gotten over the past year, one little thing didn't get mentioned and I was not ready for it... exhaustion! This is my first year with a larger, animated display and I thought I was ready for anything.

Getting everything going, every night is tiring. Fixing little things here and there is tiring. Shoveling more snow than usual because of candy canes lights next to the driveway is tiring. Putting down rock salt whenever there is a hint of ice is tiring. Helping people park is tiring. Pulling a few people out of the ditch out front is tiring(ok, not really because for some reason I like that sort of thing!). Watching the security cameras to make sure everything is going smoothly for 3-4hrs a night is tiring. Talking to everyone, almost everyday about the display is tiring.

See a pattern here? ;)

The initial setting up of the display, while being the most physical part, was nothing compared to the daily grind of having a larger display. For some reason it didn't occur to me that there would be all this daily work. I have a few rituals now that my wife thinks is funny, but need to get done. I guess it is funny... but it's also tiring. ;)

So... to all those newer people out there who are going to get a larger display going next year... be ready for exhaustion to set in by the end.

Even with it though... I wouldn't change a thing... except maybe losing a few pounds to make me lighter on my feet. :D

Happy Holidays,

Jeff

Wait a minute. We have to tear down?

I thought that I just had a pretty good head start on next years display!:D Awww shoot.

I am one of the "1st year" folks myself and I can see where this can become exhausting after awhile. Just the everyday routine can stress you out little by little over time. And you find yourself jumping up during the middle of your shows some nights going "Did something just go wrong?".