Any Movie Camera experts out there?

OK: After doing my display this year and finally recorded the entire show, I did not like the way LED's showed up. I am not wanting to go buy another camera.

I Have a Olympus SP550UZ digital camera that records 640x480 @ 30fps, but I cannot do much manual adjustments. When I bought this camera, the idea of recording lights was not even on the horizon.

My questions are:

1. Is there any special tricks you can do to make the LED colors look better?

2. How about any special lens or filters?

I do have adjustments for White Balance and Metering in the movie mode.

I'm not an expert but I have found a few things to try which will help.

1. Manual focus

2. Manual white balance

3. Manual everything else

4. turn off antivibration (must use tripod)

5. Shoot your video or pictures at dusk before the sky is dark.

I'm not an expert but I have found a few things to try which will help.

1. Manual focus

Focus is fine not giving me a problem.

2. Manual white balance

Would like to try this, should I go + or - ?

3. Manual everything else

4. turn off antivibration (must use tripod)

I do use a tripod. have kept the IS on and audio off, should I turn the IS off?

5. Shoot your video or pictures at dusk before the sky is dark.

What does is give me in improving the quality? My display does have landscape lighting on all the time, is that a problem?

Thanks for the response.

The dusk shooting definitely makes the colors look better and more colorful. Landscape lighting shouldn't be a problem.

What Does IS stand for. With my camera the antiviration feature caused the camera to try to keep the scrolling lights to stay in one position and the house to move all around:eek:

Edited by Toymakr000