designing/sequencing???

This, I know is a very broad question, but I'm going to ask it anyway ... because I'm curious. I'm also aware that as many folks who program/sequence/plan light shows as there are, there are just as many different approaches ... different strokes ...

The question is this:

What general rules do you use when designing the show for a given song? How do you approach this?

Obviously I'm just beginning so bear with me - I consider this question as "brainstorming" and, of course with brainstorming, there are no wrong answers.

Thanks,

Tom

A couple rules I like to think about when I sequence are,

1, Key change= color change- this is a great suggestion and can make transitions in the music very powerful.

2, No "flashy-ness"- not pointing out anyone in particular and I've done this before. It gets annoying to watch it after 2 weeks.. and its not very creative.

3, analyze the music- think "what do i want to accomplish with this certain section" Do you want certain things lit up, or many things.

4, Keep lights on- for your first couple of seasons people won't know about the lights.. a mistake sometimes made is people think they're light designing a show.. when in reality its Christmas lights. People driving past your house might pass it up because they don't see any lights on.

Good Luck!

This will be my fourth year of sequencing. and I have changed my philosophy along the way. First year I hit every note of every instrument or vocals. This is insanely time intensive....and maddening.:P Now I'm a more hit the high points and interesting spots and let the lights stay on more. This year I'm actually going to change a few songs to keep the lights on dim and brighten them to the music. I did it with one section of one song last year and it looked great so I'm going to expand on it. This also allows for emphasis with bright and dark!!!!