what's the best way to install a sub panel, i'm probaly going to get one this summer because i'm completely out of power.

I'm not an electrician, but if you are "completely out of power" I don't understand how adding a sub panel will help. Doesn't a sub panel just redirect or allocate power, not add it? Hence "sub,"

what's the best way to install a sub panel, i'm probaly going to get one this summer because i'm completely out of power.

I'm getting ready to add a subpanel as well. From the sounds of it, I seem to have a couple of key things that you might need:

1) A friend that's an electrician. He's already checked out my current service, drafted up a plan and is sending me out to procure stuff. I'm the intern, he's the surgeon. And, he works for beer.

2) Available space in my circuit panel, available amperage/wattage/voltage within my existing service, etc. I've got room to grow.

I would highly recommend consulting with an electrician, especially if you've maxxed out your power as-is.

I agree, the first step is to determine if your existing service can support additional load. If so then determine the best methodology and then put it in place.

If you don't have the skills to do the work yourself then call an electrician.

Tony

Like Tony said, A sub panel will do little good if your current service panel cant support the additional load. Start by determining capacity and then load....It may mean a" heavy up " of the service entrance panel would be the more appropriate route.

when you say "out of power" do you mean as in what you can pull from the single outlet on the front of the house? no more breakers in the current box? or have you maxed out the consumption for the entire house?