Newbie disappointed

I have been doing Christmas lighting for about 10 years but just went computerized this year. Lots of work as you all know very well and it was VERY disapointing. We've only seen 1 car come by to watch in the whole season. No crowds and lines of cars like you folks talk about. I think I wasted a lot of time and $. I did enjoy getting outside and doing the work but mostly I ticked off my wife for spending so much $.. Any thoughts?

Disappointed:confused:

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

My advice? Do the display because you want to and enjoy it. If you do get people parking to check it out (or just driving past and enjoying it) then that's good too, but don't base your decisions around that.

I ran out of time this year to put much up. Did I feel that I disappointed anyone? No. I enjoyed walking and driving to look at other people's displays, but I'm not competing with them. If you're doing it to gain acceptance or something else from others, you're doing it for the wrong reasons IMO.

Do not get discouraged as this was only your first year. Use the opportunity to evaluate what was good and what did not work.

Depending on how many channels you have, it could be a good thing. For instance if you have less than 50 channels, you could grow your display up to 150 next year. Then you would be glad many people did not see your first attempt as your next one would be so much better.

What songs did you use? If you used nothing but fast rock guitar songs, then perhaps they all started to sound the same.

My first year I had 32 channels that created lights that looked like they were having seizures. It took me the second year to realize I did not have to have every light flashing to 0.01 seconds.

So look at what you had, give it an honest evaluation, then grow the display accordingly.