1/2 wave vs. full wave

I am new to site but have looked everywhere here and found no answer to my question, so I am hoping someone can help me. I use mostly a static display of LED lights. Most were purchased on sale after the holidays and I,m sure they are half wave. I picked up a GE lights and sounds of chrstmas and intend on animating some trees. In looking for lights I noted a comment about full wave rectified lights vs. half wave rectified. It seemed to infer that half wave will not function properly when animated. Does anyone have any experience with this?

Half wave, Full wave. Neither are the magic bullet nor is one or the other the purple pill either. What the problem is is that a LED string that uses a filter cap. to smooth the ripple. It appears that these caps do not like having the power turned on and off to it. Even though the D.C. voltage off of the rectifier is constantly going up and down. This does not seem to effect the cap. It is the voltage being applied to the rectifier via the controller. And one other thing is that the LEDs do not fade well or will not SNAP off if there is a cap in the string.

Listen to the talk of others sharing which strings that work, and which that dont work or play well with a controller.. I would say that you are safe if you order from the vendors that are in the vendor list.

Brand? Oh boy. From suppliers here? Well. Many are from our favorite box store two seasons ago. Lots are Phillips from Target last year and a bunch I just got at several Kroger's this year. Many from the Kroger's are GE but many are also an off brand. I could pull the stair down to the attic and get the brand though if I need to. I guess what I am hearing is that I should hook them up to the controller and see if they work?