im a newb at this, been decorating for a while but not as big and amazing as you guys.:eek::eek:

but ive always run into a problem with extension cables and using too many or w/e and burning out some lights. whats the right way of doing it? whats the best extension cables since thats the only way to do it and you guys are doing it right.

Guest jcsarmy

Its about 14 minutes into the video before it shows you the cords but I think youll really appreciate the whole video. So check it out and be inspired!

http://www.holdman.com/christmas/projects.asp

Ps:static mega trees are awesome also. My suggestion for a first timer is 12 ft with 24 ft lighted strands run down and up. 25 100 light strands will do it. 2500 lights. Youll be very suprised as to how big it becomes. Figure your 3.14 Youll need a base 6 foot diameter. I believe I just took one 20 ft stick of schedule 40 pvc pipe and made a perfect circle hooking one end into its self. This will hold your lights down at the bottom. Take tent stakes and nail the pvc pipe firmly to the ground

I've never heard of a bad extension cord blowing out lights. If you have an undersized cord, you could have voltage drop (dimmer lights) and even cause a fire, but I've never heard of it actually damaging lights.

Guest jcsarmy

theirs little fuses in the male plug. If you get too many lights going on it then youll blow the fuse. Just remember the rule of three! Three strings connected on each strand then only three strands attached to each outlet.

theirs little fuses in the male plug. If you get too many lights going on it then youll blow the fuse. Just remember the rule of three! Three strings connected on each strand then only three strands attached to each outlet.

Good point. I thought he was talking extension cords not chaining lights together, but that's probably his issue.