Test as you go

1st year newbie here. Tested all the lights strings prior to putting them up eventhough they are all brand new. I started the setup from the high spots (roofline) and worked my way down over the last 2 weekends. I am 95% done with the whole setup and started running tests last night, only to find that only 25% of my strobes are functioning. Of course the strobes are the only thing I didn't test because I ran SPT wire along the rooflines and added Twist on Sockets as I progressed. And of course, the strobes are on the highest points of the house. A few of the strobes at the end of the line work, so I know there is power. I figure the vampire prongs just aren't making the connection in the rest. Now I have to climb back up to the peaks without disturbing the rest of the lights to fix. I should have tested as I went. Oh, well. Either I risk messing with the lights that are up and hopefully fix the non-working strobes, or my plan of 50 strobes on the house gets modified to "good enough." Lesson learned.

Thanks for the tip Mike! Fortunately, you have a week or so to make repairs and corrections.

I am another newbie and am taking your advice to heart as I go out tonight to make the electric hook ups and make all of my extension cords. I tested various elements as I was making them or putting them up, but never everything at once. Fingers crossed. My frustration was as I was putting up my arch, it busted the coupler in half! Grrrrr! I am not sure what I did differently this time putting it up. After unwrapping a segment, cutting the pipe and replacing the fitting I will hopefully be able to try again tonight!

I guess this is why we newbies start early - so we have time to hopefully repair, replace, or adjust! Keep the faith! I keep telling myself that this year is more for learning than anything else. Good luck!