Controller Power Question from a Newbie

So, I think I'm going to ask the crucial question- how do you power your controllers? I am guessing that most of you have dedicated circuits for your lights. However, since I'm just starting out, I have two outlets on a 20amp circuit that I plan on using to power my show for next year.

But, I've spent the last week trying to plan out how I want to do it. And then the answer came to me- for my shed in my backyard, I have the power for that (30amp) on its own circuit. So what I was thinking was that I could run two extension cords from outlets back there (probably about 100' or so) and then hook my controllers to that.

So, maybe my question is, do you think this setup is feasible? My house was built in 2005, and when it was built, the electrician put all of the outdoor lights on separate circuits, so if anything, I could always plug controllers into those lights. As for my controller count, I was planning on running 64 channels but as I don't know if that will be feasible with my power setup.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Paul

To answer your question, you really need to determine what type and how many lights you will have. This will dictate your power needs. If you use all LED's, for instance, you will easily be able to use the 20A circuit. However, if you use a lot of C9 incan's, you will need more power.

I only use mini lights and LED in my display. I originally was using C7s and C9s on my house, but the power usage was so high that I stopped using them, Figure I plan on having 10,000 lights on my house, if I space everything out enough among either 3 or 4 controllers, I should be alright with 20 amps correct?