If I Go Led Do I Need New Controller Boxes?

Hello,

I have been using my Light-O-Rama controllers since 2006 and they have been working great.

Question: If I switch all of my lights to LED, will I need the latest generation of controllers? If so, I guess this year or next year will be my last year. Don't really want to replace everything.

Thanks.

The newest generation of controllers is supposed to have different dimming curves that you can set for designated channels that are LED vs Incandescent since LEDs dim differently than incans. However, if you are 100% LED, it doesn't really matter since everything will dim at the same rate. I haven't played with it yet, but once I convert my C9s to LEDs, I think this will be a very useful tool.

Thanks for the info. Lukily with my incans, I don't need to calculate loads as I only have about 4000 lights. :)

I do have one section of LED's that run a Merry Christmas banner. Sometimes after it fades, it does one final random flash. Don't know if its an issue with the banner itself or the fact that I'm running on an older controller box. Anyone else see this issue?

you may want to try a snubber for your sign it should help. also you could look into updateing you controllers firmware. not sur what some of the updates are but i know you would find your answer on there Forums.

Exactly what Mcas said. It can be as small as a single single C9 bulb. Just plug it into the same channel and the extra load will help the LEDs fade.

It appears if I am reading correctly you are still using incandescents? No LED yet? if this is the case, then the snubber won't change anything, and no need to add an additional C9 bulb. The incandescents are already accomplishing this feat anyway. So try the firmware upgrade first.