Problems With Led's When Used With Lor

I've been using a mix of LED's and incandescent lights since 2009.  They were Walmart brand LED C9's and I love them.  Only had one string go out this year which was fixed using the LED keeper.  Now for 2012 I purchased probably 200 boxes of LED's from local Giant Eagle grocer's as well as Walgreen's.  None of these sets had a round resistor or rectifier on the string.  They were basically similar to the typical "mini" sets with replaceable bulbs.  I've not had any failures yet and I'm pleased with how well they work, but I'm noticing that they do not completly shut of.  In some instances when I have a fast "chase" some sets seem to remain on.

I have six 5-channel firesticks that were used last year.  They were Walmart brand mini 60ct LED's and have the rectifier. Last year they worked perfectly without a problem.  This year, however, they are "sticking" on.  It can be a bit annoying. 

So with this in mind... is this what the "snubbers" do?  Resolve the problem of the LED set NOT turning off?  Also, I notice that sometimes a song will come on and a certain tree comes on when it's not programmed to turn on.  It will "shimmer".  And when I look in the sequence to see if in fact I had "turned it on", the sequence shows that the channel was not even used.   I thought maybe I had the channel mixed up but that was not the answer. So I'm a bit confused.  Anyone experience this before?

I'd like to take some videos of the display, but with so many little "bugs" I don't want to capture the errors.  Most times the songs run just fine with the lights, then other times they don't work exactly right.

Any comments or suggestions? Thanks!