How Many Strobes Should I Use In Mega-Tree, Etc..

Greetings -

This year (my 4th) I have decided to add strobe lights to parts of my display.  I have ordered 20 of them that flash 4 times a second, now that I have them coming in, I now have a new question / concern, how many to use.

Now, I know you can never have enough lights in total, but I suspect too many strobes would end up causing headaches to the viewers.

So, can some of the experts out there who have done this already share some tips, tricks and techniques on using them.

My mega-tree is 10 feet high, how many and how far apart would people suggest I put them?

I also want to put some into the very tall, i.e. around 15 feet tall, bushes in front of my house, so again, how many and how far apart?

You can see my yard in pictures and video at www.crazytechchristmas.com if that helps with providing some guidelines for me.

Thank you to all in advance for sharing / helping me out here, when it comes to strobes I am a newbie.

Strobes staked in the ground across that big slope your house is on would look pretty neat.  IMO, strobes are best spread throughout a display, rather than one small location, but given you are starting with 20 I'm not sure how that would work.  I started just by putting them in my tree line, then expanded from there as I purchased more.  I think 4 or 5 strobes would be plenty in a 10 foot mega.  Use spt wire with snap on sockets to spread them out.  The rest can go to your bushes, maybe the ground, or even that tree you have wrapped to the left.  You'll get many opinions, but do what you think is best.  You can always move them if you want to change it.

I use 120 strobes at the end of

video. (took a while to collect that many) Edited by vkjohnson