Easy Arches

EWTalley

I have tried the wraping method and looked at doing the sleeve method. About 4-5 years ago I saw a new method that I have been using since 2010. I don't know what it is called, but I will try to explain and show what it is. This also puts most of the lights on the front of the arches and if a section fails just cut the zip ties for that section and replace, no need to remove any other section.

1. Take a string of lights and go back and forth making a string about 16" long, this can be a 50ct or 100ct string of lights, use zip ties to keep them in place. Make as many of these as the number of sections for your arches. 

2. Take your arch pole and make your arch, ( I use 3/4 grey PVC and attach a cable from one end to the other for  3' high arches).

3. Take the 16" long sections of lights and zip tie them to the arch starting in the middle and working to each end. The lights can be adjusted however you want them.

Picture # 1 is the strings of lights, I used 2-50ct strings for each section.

Picture # 2 is the arches in storage, the cable is wrapped around the arch.

Picture # 3 is the arch with a section of rebar holding the arch in place.

post-9379-0-67220300-1376681178_thumb.jp

post-9379-0-21519400-1376681202_thumb.jp

post-9379-0-26101700-1376681220_thumb.jp

Very nice Earl.  Like your approach with the lights.   May actually try that instead of using the Holiday Coro Baby Sidewalk Arches I bought a few years ago and been using.    Will probably also add some nice green garland to the PVC just to hide any exposed areas of PVC during daylight hours. Wouldn't be too noticeable at night, but I'd just prefer to put some nice garland over the PVC.

Will definitely remember this method, seems to be the simplest and easiest way to do larger arches.