Looking For "special" Led Icicle Lights

I'm pretty new to the "big Christmas displays" and am always looking for new ideas and things to try, so this past Christmas I was driving around looking at lights and ran across two or three houses that had LED icicle lights, however they seemed to be "special LED bulbs" in that they had a long range, direct light cast. What I mean by this is that the eves of the house and garage doors (nearly all the way down to the ground) had round circles of colors all over the doors from the icicle lights. The circles got larger the closer they got to the ground which is what leads me to believe that these were indeed from the icicle lights and not some laser system. Also, one house had just these icicle lights and nothing else, with two feet of snow in their yard, I further eliminated the thought of some ground based device providing the cast on the garage door. Unfortunately, I didn't have my camera with me at the time. When I went back to get a picture, they had taken the lights down so I do not have a picture to show here. Does anyone have any ideas as to what these lights might be? where I can find them, etc? I've found some wide angle LED icicle lights on various vendor sites, but no site shows pictures of these lights in use, only the bulbs themselves, so I'm not sure that's what I am after.

Thanks for your help,

Brian

Probably cheap "dome" 5mm LEds ,which are similar in looks to the "wide angle,conical" 5mm LEDs but they cast a bright,almost flashlight beam out the top of the LED vs the wide angle style that breaks up the directional aspect of the light.Used to be very common before the wide angle led almost completely replaced them,but can still be found at bigbox stores selling on price-many did not like them,especially when used indoors do to this effect

Edited by merrymidget
  • 1 month later...