Hi guys and gals,

Just wanted to actually introduce myself after lurking for a couple of months.

I'm Jim from Evanston, Illinois (suburb of Chicago.)  I'm a theatre producer by day and Christmas light crazy person in my free time.  We have a 12k static display (actually we use 5 of the 8function/3channel units to flash/chase/fade my 15 mini trees.)

I've begun the process of exploring the possibilty of converting my display over to LOR. I've got a background in theatrical lighting design, so the concept isn't really that foreign to me.  Now all I have to do is convince my partner that the investment is worth it :)

In any case, I've learned a lot from reading the forums.  Plan on lots of questions once I start the conversion.

Best,

ChicagoChristmasJim

Welcome Jim, hope you have a great time here. I started with LOR last year and must say, i had the christmas of my life!

Their products are great, their service is even greater. To me it deffinetly was worth the investment. Never had a hobby that gave me so much fun ;)

Welcome Jim!  We converted to LOR last year (with one 16 channel controller) for halloween and quickly added 3 more for Christmas.  We added another two this year mainly to control a series of leaping arches.  It's quite addicting and rewarding.

I'm from Elgin, so not too far from you.

Welcome to our madness Jim.  This site really got me started a few years ago.  You won't be disappointed with LOR products, that's for sure. 

Just take your time, learn the software, and plan your display.  Oh, and did anybody mention -- don't forget to budget for lots and lots of extension cords!

Thanks for the warm welcome guys.  We started the inside decorations this weekend. We do 5 full-sized trees and lots more smaller ones, so we've gotten a start. If all goes according to schedule, we'll be done inside the weekend before thanksgiving and then we'll do the outside lights so they're ready for Thanksgiving night.