Texas Newbie

Howdy from Texas, yes I know its cliche but that is how we roll here in the panhandle, lol.  My name is Zach, I am married with 2 boys, one is 17yrs old and the other is 2yrs old.  I am a complete noob to chirstmas lighting. I have had a few strands of lights up for the last couple of years, and last I year added 3 inflatibles. 

My youngest son absolutely loves christmas lights, and I am wanting to go bigger next year.  There is a house down the block from us that has an animated light show and I have to take my son by there every night during the season.  I was thinking about building up to that some year, but before I go to big I need to evaluate my electical capabilities.  I live in an old house and I have one outlet outside that I run my lights on my house from.   

I just bought all new LED lights this year for really cheap thanks to the 75% off sale at Walmart, and an 180.00 inflatible for 40 bucks.  I plan on doing some DIY this year.  I love DIY projects and I have noticed that there are some good DIY projects on this site to help me along.  I may make some arches to start out with. 

Well that is enough for now.  I hope you guys have a wonderful new year and will be talking soon. 

Peace and good will to you all,

Zach.

Hey, Zach, welcome to PC!

I also purchased a lot of LEDs from Walmart, Big Lots, Lowe's, etc.......

They all need to be "fixed" - converted from half wave to full wave.  Many can't see the half wave flicker, but long term exposure gives them headaches, makes then edgy, and a few other symptoms.  Some of us, me, inclusded, can see the flicker, especially under fluorescent lights - which to me, also have a bit of a flicker - because of phasing issues.